12 Oct 2019

Local body elections across the country: Who's in and who's out?

9:10 pm on 12 October 2019

There are some new faces and some familiar faces heading the country's councils for the next three years.

Former Dunedin Mayor Dave Cull with new Dunedin Mayor Aaron Hawkins at a celebration at the Dunedin cafe, Morning Magpie.

Former Dunedin Mayor Dave Cull with new Dunedin Mayor Aaron Hawkins at a celebration at the Dunedin cafe, Morning Magpie. Photo: RNZ / Tess Brunton

As the local body election results are released, RNZ journalists are reporting from major centres around New Zealand.

Read our blog of how the day played out here. Or find our reports for each region as they arrive, below.

The big results, so far:

In Auckland, Phil Goff has beaten his main challenger John Tamihere, to be voted mayor for a second term.

Lianne Dalziel has also retained the mayoralty in Christchurch and in Nelson Rachel Reese keeps the top job.

In Dunedin, Aaron Hawkins takes the top title becoming one of the country's youngest mayor's at 35 years old, after incumbent Dave Cull stepped down.

In Invercargill, Tim Shadbolt returns for his eighth term, defeating Steve Chernishov, Darren Ludlow and Rebecca Amundsen.

In upsets, Horowhenua has a new mayor and four new councillors as Bernie Wanden takes up the mayoral chains.

In Porirua, Anita Baker has taken the mayoralty from incumbent Mike Tana.

A bit further south Lower Hutt's Campbell Barry has become one of the country's youngest ever mayors at 28 years old, while Upper Hutt Mayor Wayne Guppy has been re-elected. Progress results show Masterton's mayor Lyn Patterson has also been re-elected.

Kirsten Wise will be Napier's new mayor beating former Napier MP Chris Tremain by more than 8000 votes, while preliminary results show Hastings Mayor Sandra Hazlehurst has won another term.

In Hamilton's unofficial results Paula Southgate has beaten incumbent mayor Andrew King.

New Plymouth Mayor Neil Holdom has kept the role with a large majority.

Palmerston North Mayor Grant Smith has been re-elected for another term.

And Sheryl Mai has been re-elected as the Mayor of Whangārei, winning her third term in office.

In Marlborough, John Leggett has returned as mayor for a second term.

From across the country:


Third terms for Whangarei and Far North mayors


Auckland mayor Phil Goff says he has won with 48 percent of the vote


Paula Southgate wins Hamilton mayoralty after narrowly missing out at last election

Bay of Plenty

New mayors for Tauranga and Whakatane


Gisborne mayor Rehette Stolz to continue in role

Hawke's Bay

Kirsten Wise announced as Napier's new mayor

Manawatū-Wanganui region

Grant Smith re-elected mayor in Palmerston North


New Plymouth mayor wins almost double the votes of nearest rival

Wellington Region

Wellington: Upsets in Wellington City and Lower Hutt, and two incumbent mayors safe

Lower Hutt's new mayor Campbell Barry one of the youngest to serve


Nelson mayor Rachel Reese keeps top job


Lianne Dalziel re-elected as Christchurch mayor


Dunedin goes Green as Aaron Hawkins elected as the city's next mayor

Queenstown mayor Jim Boult back for another term

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs