13 Oct 2019

New Plymouth mayor wins almost double the votes of nearest rival

3:03 pm on 13 October 2019

Neil Holdom has kept the New Plymouth mayoralty by a massive margin.

New Plymouth mayor Neil Holdom.

New Plymouth Mayor Neil Holdom has been voted back for a second term. Photo: RNZ / Robin Martin

Preliminary results show 13,714 voters picked Mr Holdom, while his nearest rival, Max Brough, received 6956 votes.

Several hundred special votes are yet to be counted and this could affect final results for some New Plymouth District Council roles. An official declaration of election winners is expected in the next week.

Forty-five percent of New Plymouth voters cast a vote.

Four women are among the 14 councillors voted in, according to the preliminary results.

The councillors at this stage include Stacey Hitchcock, Gordon Brown, Harry Duynhoven, Murray Chong, Sam Bennett, Richard Handley, Amanda Clinton-Gohdes, Dinnie Moeahu, Anneka Carlson, Phil Quinney, Tony Bedford, Colin Johnston, Marie Pearce, and Richard Jordan.

The mayor and councillors will make decisions for the council's $3.3 billion worth of assets, set long-term priorities, and decide how to keep rates affordable.

The members elected for Waitara Community Board are Trevor Dodunski, Joe Rauner, Andrew Larson, and Jonathan Marshall.

Kaitake Community Board members were elected unopposed. They are Graham Chard, Paul Coxhead, Doug Hislop and Paul Veric.

Mel Cook and Graeme Sykes were elected unopposed to the Inglewood Community Board and two positions still need to be filled.

For the Clifton Community Board, Ken Bedford and Warren Peterson were elected unopposed, with two positions to fill.

By-elections will be held to complete the Inglewood and Clifton Community Boards.

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs