3 Nov 2011

Slater top as NRL sweeps league awards

12:25 pm on 3 November 2011

The Australian rugby league star Billy Slater has been crowned International Player of The Year for a second time at the International Federation awards in London.

Slater, who also won in 2008, pipped Melbourne team-mate Cameron Smith and Wests Tigers and New Zealand star Benji Marshall for the top gong.

Slater was also named fullback of the year - one of eight Australian winners of the nine positional awards in the International Team of the Year, with five-eighth Marshall the other.

Des Hasler's NRL Premiership success with Manly was recognised with the coach of the year award.