2 Oct 2008

Eight countries bid to host Rugby World Cups

7:58 am on 2 October 2008

A record number of eight countries are bidding to host the 2015 Rugby World Cup with Australia, South Africa and Japan amongst those keen to stage the event after New Zealand.

Others to confirm their intention to tender for the 2015 tournament are England, Ireland, Italy, Scotland and Wales.

Australia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Russia, Scotland, South Africa and Wales have also made bids for the 2019 event.

For the first time, the IRB will award two tournaments at the same time with the decision to be announced mid next year.