4 Aug 2010

Guildford and Thomson in Sevens squad for Games

6:36 pm on 4 August 2010

The All Blacks Zac Guildford and Adam Thomson have been named in the 12-strong rugby sevens squad for the Commonwealth Games in Delhi in October.

Wellington winger Hosea Gear and Otago's Ben Smith have also been selected.

The team will be captained by DJ Forbes from Counties-Manukau.

Since sevens was added included in the Commonwealth Games at Kuala Lumpur in 1998, New Zealand has won the gold medal on each occassion.

The full squad is: DJ Forbes, captain, Toby Arnold, Kurt Baker, Tomasi Cama, Hosea Gear, Zac Guildford, Tim Mikkelson, Lote Raikabula, Ben Smith, Ben Souness, Sherwin Stowers, Adam Thomson.