15 Apr 2010

Clarke wins Wisden award

8:15 am on 15 April 2010

Australia vice-captain Michael Clarke has been named as one of the Wisden Almanack's Five Cricketers of the Year for 2010.

The 29-year-old was Australia's leading run scorer in last year's Ashes series but suffered the disappointment of finishing on the losing side as hosts England triumphed 2-1 in an intriguing series.

Clarke is joined in winning the accolade this year, an award a player can only receive once in his career, by England Ashes heroes Stuart Broad, Graham Onions, Matt Prior and Graeme Swann.

Meanwhile India batsman Virender Sehwag becomes the first player to retain Wisden's Leading Cricketer in the World award since it was inaugurated six years ago.