21 Mar 2010

Sydney FC win Australia's A-League on penalties

7:12 am on 21 March 2010

Sydney FC have won Australian football's A-League grand final against Melbourne Victory 4-2 in a penalty shootout - the first A-League decider to go beyond 90 minutes.

The two teams were locked at 1-1 after extra-time at Melbourne's Etihad Stadium, before Sydney broke the stalemate in the shootout.

South Korean Byun Sung-Hwan netted the winner.