19 Nov 2016

Kiwis coach keeps cards close to chest

11:03 am on 19 November 2016

The Kiwis coach David Kidwell has tried to keep Australia guessing by naming his squad for Monday morning's Four Nations rugby league final in alphabetical order rather than nominating positions.

David Kidwell

David Kidwell Photo: Photosport

Kidwell has included 19 players in the squad, but refused to highlight the matchday 17 or name players against their positions in the traditional 1-17 format.

The team naming, which is within the rules of international league, reveals very little other than prop Jared Waerea-Hargreaves is unavailable due to injury.

Forward Tohu Harris is likely to play at standoff in place of the injured Thomas Leuluai after training there this week but Kidwell has also included rookie Te Maire Martin in the squad to keep the Kangaroos in the dark.

Lewis Brown, Jordan Rapana, Shaun Kenny-Dowall, Jordan Kahu, Jason Taumalolo and Kevin Proctor are the six players to return to the squad after being rested for the tepid and unexpected draw with Scotland last week.

Outside backs Gerard Beale and Dallin Watene-Zelezniak have been axed for the final.

The Kangaroos have also named their squad for the Four Nations final at Liverpool football club's famous Anfield ground on Monday morning (NZ time).

The Kiwis squad:

NEW ZEALAND: Adam Blair, Jesse Bromwich (c), Lewis Brown, Greg Eastwood, James Fisher-Harris, David Fusitu'a, Tohu Harris, Shaun Johnson, Jordan Kahu, Solomone Kata, Shaun Kenny-Dowall, Issac Luke, Te Maire Martin, Manu Ma'u, Kevin Proctor, Jordan Rapana, Joseph Tapine, Jason Taumalolo, Martin Taupau