1 Oct 2014

Thurston and Hayne share Dally M

11:30 am on 1 October 2014

Rugby league history was created at the Dally M awards with Johnathan Thurston and Jarryd Hayne crowned the first-ever dual winners of the NRL's most-coveted individual honour.

For heavy favourite Thurston, it was his third Dally M triumph but his first since 2007.

North Queensland's Johnathan Thurston

North Queensland's Johnathan Thurston Photo: PHOTOSPORT

The Cowboys co-captain joins Andrew Johns as the only players to earn a hat-trick of Dally M wins.

The recognition further cements his place as a rugby league great, despite the fact a Premiership still eludes him since becoming the marquee star at the North Queensland Cowboys.

It's the second time Hayne has won the major award after the Parramatta superstar was also crowned the game's best in 2009 when he led the Eels on a hot streak right through to the grand final.

In a thrilling finish, Thurston and Hayne, now a dual winner, finished the 26 NRL premiership rounds on 32 points - three points ahead of third-placed Sam Burgess.

The pair were the overwhelming stars of a glittering night at Sydney's The Star on Monday night, sweeping several awards each.

The former Warriors coach Ivan Cleary was named coach of the year for taking the Penrith Panthers to within one match of one of the biggest fairytales in grand final history.