11 Jan 2009

McCauley wins national road title

4:37 pm on 11 January 2009

The Counties Manukau rider Gordon McCauley has claimed a record fifth victory in the national road cycling champs in Te Awamutu.

McCauley won the 180 kilometre race from team mates Joseph Cooper and Jason Allen, in a time of 4:19.25.

The peleton, which included two time champion Julian Dean, finished 47 seconds behind.

McCauley surpasses the previous record of four national road titles won by Jack Swart.