31 Oct 2012

Eight new Hurricanes

12:42 pm on 31 October 2012

Eight new Hurricanes have been announced in the squad for the 2013 Super Rugby competition including two players that will make the step up from the 2012 wider training group.

The new recruits include All Black Ben Franks, Wellington and New Zealand Under 20 representatives Matt Proctor and Eric Sione, Tongan halfback Samisoni Fisilau, Taranaki and last year's wider training group members James Marshall and Blade Thomson, Wellington and former NZ Sevens player Ardie Savea, and Rey Lee-Lo from the Provincial Rugby Championship winning Counties Manukau team.

This year's squad has 24 fully contracted players from 2012 in the group of 32 and will once again be led by Conrad Smith.

The Hurricanes squad for 2013 is:

James Broadhurst, Dane Coles, Jason Eaton, Ben Franks, Reggie Goodes, Jack Lam, Faifili Levave, Karl Lowe, Motu Matu'u, Ben May, Mark Reddish, Ardie Savea, Brad Shields, Eric Sione, Blade Thomson, Jeremy Thrush, Jeffery Toomaga-Allen, Victor Vito

Beauden Barrett, Tim Bateman, Samisoni Fisilau, Cory Jane, Rey Lee-Lo, Alapati Leuia, James Marshall, TJ Perenara, Tusi Pisi, Matt Proctor, Julian Savea, Conrad Smith, Chris Smylie, Andre Taylor