24 Sep 2012

Blues sign four more for next season

11:48 am on 24 September 2012

The Blues have signed four more players for next year's Super Rugby season with Taranaki's Waisake Naholo and Kane Barrett, Counties-Manukau's Baden Kerr and North Harbour's Bryn Hall all inking two year contracts with the franchise.

Halfback Hall will cover the departure of former All Black Alby Mathewson while wing Naholo joins a list of young outside backs in the squad.

The 23-year-old Kerr takes the place of the recently dumped former New Zealand under 20's first five Gareth Anscombe.

Barrett, a loose forward/lock, captained the New Zealand Secondary Schools in 2009, while both Hall and Naholo have represented New Zealand at under 20 level.

All four players will experience their first taste of Super Rugby in 2013.

Meanwhile the Auckland No.8 Peter Saili has also re-signed with the Blues for another year.