21 Jun 2012

Gillespie a notable omission on NZ Cricket's contracted list

11:27 am on 21 June 2012

The Wellington fast bowler Mark Gillespie is the notable omission from the list of players contracted by New Zealand Cricket for the next year.

Gillespie, who was a standout performer in the test series against South Africa, has failed to make the top 20 list.

So too has Jesse Ryder, who'd already indicated he wouldn't be seeking a Black Caps contract, because of his much-publicised off-field troubles.

Hamish Bennett, Neil Broom, Andy McKay, Luke Woodcock and Reece Young have also failed to have their contracts renewed and will have to rely on picking up contracts with their provinces.

Back on the list though is the Wellington allrounder James Franklin while Dean Brownlie, Doug Bracewell, Andrew Ellis, Tarun Nethula and Kruger van Wyk have gained contracts for the first time.

The top-ranked player on the list, likely to be skipper Ross Taylor, earns $181,000 plus match payments while the 20th-ranked player gets $73,000 plus match fees.

Meanwhile Dan Vettori declared himself available for September's Twenty20 World Cup in Sri Lanka.

The former Black Caps captain announced last year he was retiring from the shorter forms of the international game to extend his test career.

The full list of contracted players is: Trent Boult, Doug Bracewell, Dean Brownlie, Andrew Ellis, Daniel Flynn, James Franklin, Martin Guptill, Chris Martin, Brendon McCullum, Nathan McCullum, Kyle Mills, Tarun Nethula, Rob Nicol, Jacob Oram, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Kruger van Wyk, Daniel Vettori, BJ Watling, Kane Williamson.