24 Apr 2012

Van Persie named players' player of the year

11:41 am on 24 April 2012

The Arsenal striker Robin van Persie has been named the English Professional Footballers' Association player of the year after scoring 27 league goals to revive his club's season.

The Dutch international tops the Premier League scoring charts and Arsenal's third spot with three matches to go after a poor start to the campaign is in large part down to his stunning contribution.

The London side have won just the 2005 FA Cup since he joined from Feyenoord in 2004.

Van Persie is the third Dutchman to win the award after Dennis Bergkamp and Ruud van Nistelrooy.

He is the first Arsenal player to claim it since Thierry Henry in 2004.

Van Persie, far more clinical this season than ever before while still boasting immense flair, is also favourite to win the English Football Writers' player of the year award later this week.

He took the players' gong ahead of fellow nominees Wayne Rooney of Manchester United, Tottenham Hotspur's Scott Parker and Manchester City trio Joe Hart, David Silva and Sergio Aguero.

Tottenham winger Gareth Bale won last season's award.

Spurs fullback Kyle Walker was named young player of the year.