18 Sep 2017

American Samoa brings in new entry charge

12:42 pm on 18 September 2017

American Samoa has put a $US20 dollar fee on travellers from countries that currently don't require a permits to enter the territory.

Ofu and Olosega in the Manu'as. (American Samoa).

Photo: American Samoa Tourism

Airlines have been notified by the Attorney General's Office that the citizens of 38 countries, are not required to secure an entry permit before entering American Samoa, but do need to pay $US20 upon arrival at the airport.

Previously these passport holders have been allowed in free of charge.

Travellers entering American Samoa to board fishing or commercial vessels still need to obtain 30 day entry permit.

The notice from the AG's office said immigration officers may refuse entry to any traveller whose entry violates American Samoa law, or who poses a threat to the welfare, health, safety or security of American Samoa.

The 38 countries on the list are Andorra, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lichtenstein, Lithuania,, Luxemborg, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, San Marino, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan and United Kingdom.