25 Apr 2008

Tongan pro-democracy MPs do well in election

10:15 am on 25 April 2008

Most of the pro-democracy MPs have been returned to the Tongan Parliament by ordinary voters in yesterday's election.

Many of the MPs, including Akilisi Pohiva, who has the highest vote count, face charges over a riot in 2006 that saw eight killed and caused millions of dollars of damage to the Tongan capital, Nuku'Alofa.

A number of those accused of starting the riot including Clive Edwards, Uliti Uata and Iseleli Pulu were returned to Parliament.

Our reporter in Tonga says the result sends a clear signal that voters want representatives with a track record of campaigning for political change.