Sol3 Mio in our studio in Wellington

Photo: RNZ / Richard Tindiller

Melody Thomas is standing in for regular Music 101 host Alex Behan today from 1pm. 
First up, Jonathan Densem actor singer-songwriter talks about fulfilling his dying wish to record an album.
And Australian soul singer Josh from The Teskey Brothers stops by to sing songs of heartbreak. 
After two we’ll get Ruban Nielson of Unknown Mortal Orchestra on the line ahead of the band’s upcoming shows an Wondergarden, New Year's Eve 2017 in Auckland and Tuki Festival in Queenstown, and a taster ofThe Blackbird Ensemble’s recent Bjork tribute show “All if Full of Love”.
Get familiar with Peach Milk - another great local female electronic musician - for our mini series She Will Move You. And 
Alphabethead's new release gets a critique from Nick Bollinger. 
At 3 We’ll get into the spirit of the season with SOL3 MIO We’ve got a slice of Kathryn Ryan’s interview with Aldous Harding Kiran Dass is in to share her favourite music books of the year 
And between 4 + 5pm a roundup of the best releases from around the world, as picked by the RNZ Music team.

Music played in this show


Artist: Bright Music
Song: Splash
Composer: Brinkman, Smith
Album: Single
Label: Private

Jonathan Densem 
Artist: Jonathan Densem
Song: Beautiful Girl
Composer: Densem
Album: I'm Saying It Now
Label: Private

Artist: Belle and Sebastian 
Song: I’ll be your pilot
Composer: Murdoch
Album: How to Solve Our Human Problems pt2
Label: Matador

Artist: Bjork
Song: Claimstaker
Composer: Bjork
Album: Utopia
Label: One Little Indian

Josh Teskey in session
Artist: Josh Teskey
Songs: Pain and Misery, Crying Shame
Composer: The Teskey Brothers
Label: RNZ Recording


Artist: Bic Runga
Song: Drive (Silicon remix)
Composer: Bic Runga, Kody Nielson
Album: Single
Label: Private

Ruban Nielson interview
Artist: Unknown Mortal Orchestra
Song: So Good At Being in Trouble
Composer: Unknown Mortal Orchestra
Album: II
Label: Jagjaguwar

Artist: Colin 
Song: People Talk About Me 
Composer: Colin and Jake Portrait
Album: Single

The Blackbird Ensemble - All is Full of Love
Artist: The Blackbird Ensemble 
Song: Emotional landscapes 
Composer: Bjork 
Album: n/a
Label: RNZ Recording

Artist: The Blackbird Ensemble 
Song: State of Emergency
Composer: Bjork 
Album: n/a 
Label: RNZ Recording

Artist: The Blackbird Ensemble 
Song: All Is Full Of Love 
Composer: Bjork 
Album: n/a 
Label: RNZ Recording

She Will Move You: Peach Milk
Artist: Peach Milk
Song: Flight Instinct, Heretic, Bound, Master Chief, Superambi 
Composer: Madison Eve
Album: Finally
Label: Self-released

The Sampler: Alphabethead
Music details TBC


Artist: Disasteradio
Song: Aftertouch 
Composer: Rowell 
Album: Sweatshop 
Label: A Low Hum

Sol3 Mio in session
Artist: Sol3 Mio
Song: It's Beginning to look a lot like Christmas 
Composer: Meredith Willson
Album: n/a
Label: RNZ Recording 

Artist: Sol3 Mio
Song: Return To Santa
Composer: MacKay
Album: n/a
Label: RNZ Recording

Artist: Deva Mahal 
Song: Snake
Composer: Mahal 
Album: Deva Mahal 
Label: Private

Artist: Sister Rosetta Tharpe 
Song: You Gotta Move
Composer: Trad

Artist; Nina Simone 
Song: Mississippi Goddam
Composer: Simone
Album: Nina Simone in Concert
Label: Philips Records

Introducing: Maxwell Young
Artist: Maxwell Young
Song: Midnight
Composer: Maxwell Young
Album: Daydreamer
Label: Independent

Artist: Melodownz 
Song: $on of a queen
Composer: Melodownz 
Album: Avontales
Label: Liiightside

Artist: Ravyn Lanae 
Song: Sticky
Composer: Lenae/Lacy
Album: Single 
Label: Atlantic Recording

Artist: Spaceman 3 
Song: Revolution
Composer: Peter Kember and Jason Pierce.
Album: Playing With Fire
Label: Fire Records

Artist: Paul McCartney 
Song: Check My Machine
Composer: McCartney
Album: McCartney II
Label: Parlophone


The Mixtape: Best International Releases 2017

Artist: Tove Styrke 
Song: Say My Name
Composer: Peter Ågren, Tove Styrke, Janne Kask[1]
Album: Single 
Label: Sony

Artist: Cigarettes After Sex 
Song: K 
Composer: Gonzalez
Album: Cigarettes After Sex 
Label: Partisan Records

Artist: Moses Sumney 
Song: Lonely World 
Composer: Sumney 
Album: Aromanticism
Label: Jagjaguar

Artist: Sleaford Mods
Song: BHS
Composer: Fearn/Williamson
Album: English tapas 
Label: Rough Trade

Artist: Mura Masa 
Song: Love$ick ft. A$ap Rocky
Alex Crossan Rakim Mayers
Album: Mura Masa 
Label: Universal 

Artist: Kendrick Lamar 
Song: Humble
Composer: Kendrick Duckworth Michael Williams II Asheton Hogan
Album: Damn.
Label: Top Dawg

Artist: Four Tet 
Song; Scientists
Composer: Hebden
Album: New Energy
Label: Text Records

Artist: Randy Newman 
Song: The Great Debate
Composer: Newman
Album: Dark Matter
Label: Nonesuch

Artist: St Vincent 
Song: New York 
Composer: Clark/Antonoff
Label: Caroline

Artist: Kokoko! 
Song; Tokoliana
Composer: Kokoko!
Album: Tokoliana
Label: Private