22 Feb 2019

Four former Solomon Islands PMs seek votes in April election

4:48 pm on 22 February 2019

Four former Solomon Islands prime ministers are seeking election in the upcoming April elections.

No caption

Manasseh Sogavare Photo: RNZ/Koroi Hawkins

The Island Sun reported Manasseh Sogavare, Gordon Darcy Lilo, Danny Philip and Derek Sikua are on candidate lists being finalised this week.

Mr Sogavare is contesting East Choiseul again as Independent member.

Mr Lilo is looking to regain the Gizo Kolombangara seat after he lost it twice, during the 2014 election and then in a by-election last year.

Mr Philip will attempt to continue his reign in the South New Georgia constituency where he has been since 2010.

Mr Sikua is trying to retain his seat in North East Guadalcanal.

The sons of two former Prime Ministers are also on the candidate lists.

Peter Kenilorea Junior and Solomon Mamaloni Junior are contesting the East Are Are and West Makira seats respectively.

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs