3 Sep 2020

Jamie-Lee Tuuta and Dr Carwyn Jones appointed co-presidents of the Māori Law Society

2:38 pm on 3 September 2020

Jamie-Lee Tuuta and Dr Carwyn Jones have been appointed co-presidents of the executive at Te Hunga Rōia Māori o Aotearoa, the Māori Law Society.

Carwyn Jones: "One of the things the Treaty does is provides space for people who are not Māori."

Dr Carwyn Jones. Photo: Chevron Hassett/The Wireless

They will replace Marcia Murray and Glenn Tootil and lead the organisation's work in law reform.

Tuuta, of Ngāi Tahu, Ngāti Toa Rangatira, Ngāti Mutunga o Wharekauri descent, worked at the private practice Brandts-Giesen McCormick before joining the Waitangi Tribunal as a registrar last year.

Dr Jones, of Ngāti Kahungunu, is a senior lecturer at Victoria University.

Tuuta said she was looking forward to building on the work of Te Hunga Rōia Māori o Aotearoa.

"Over the past year Te Hunga Rōia Māori o Aotearoa has contributed to significant law reform, continued to support and advocate for their members as well as strengthen relationships within the profession," she said.

"This included seeing the signing of two Memorandums of Understanding with the New Zealand Law Society and the New Zealand Law Commission to solidify these key relationships."

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs