7 Oct 2017

Election results: what you need to know

4:13 pm on 7 October 2017

The special votes have been counted and the official results of the 2017 election are out. Here's what you need to know.

Follow RNZ's live blog and read a full wrap of where things stand

  • Seat numbers: National 56, Labour 46, New Zealand First 9, Green Party 8, ACT 1.
  • National has lost two seats, which means National's Nicola Willis, and Maureen Pugh will not become MPs.
  • The Greens have picked up one seat, putting Golriz Ghahraman in Parliament as their 8th MP.
  • Labour has picked up one seat; Angie Warren-Clark will take up that list seat in Parliament.
  • The result means National, with support from New Zealand First, would have 65 seats, down from 67 under preliminary results.
  • Labour/Greens with New Zealand First would now have 63 seats, compared with the 61 they had under the provisional results.
  • There were 446,287 special votes cast, or 17 percent of the total number of votes.
  • Turnout as a percentage of enrolled electors was 79.8 percent, the highest since 2005.
  • The final enrolment rate was 92.4 percent, slightly down on the 92.6 percent of last election.
  • Check out RNZ's Need to Know from election night with the stats as they stood then.

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs