6 Nov 2016

Govt spends up for Christchurch schools

2:11 pm on 6 November 2016

The government is to spend $6 million on the seismic strengthening of eight schools in Christchurch.

Hekia Parata

Photo: RNZ / Rebekah Parsons-King

The investment is in addition to a billion-dollar programme to rebuild Christchurch schools.

The eight schools are St Thomas of Canterbury College, in Sockburn, St James School in Aranui, St Joseph's School in Papanui, St Francis of Assisi School in St Albans, Rangiora New Life School, St Mary's School in the central city, Middleton Grange School in Upper Riccarton and Christchurch Rudolf Steiner School in Opawa.

Education Minister Hekia Parata said the work included replacing classrooms that had to be demolished after the earthquakes, strengthening of existing spaces, and rebuilding.

Work on the eight projects is expected to begin next year.

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs