13 Oct 2013

New mayor for Palmerston North

8:59 am on 13 October 2013

Jono Naylor has been re-elected as mayor of Palmerston North, beating five other candidates to win a third term.

It was the city's first election using the Single Transferable Vote electoral system.

Mr Naylor gained 10,376 votes, well ahead of his closest rival Lew Findlay who received 4512 votes.

Turnout was 38.4% compared with 42.8% at the 2010 election.

Rangitikei District Council has a new mayor with Andy Watson elected.

Mr Watson got 1847 votes, beating Chalky Leary, who was running for re-election. Mr Leary got 1373 votes.

The mayoral result is based on 98% of voting papers counted.

Manawatu-Wanganui council

Results for the Manawatu-Wanganui Regional Council are flowing in with 98% of the vote counted.

At this stage the two successful members for the Manawatu-Rangitikei constituency are Bruce Gordon and Gordon McKellar.

In Palmerston North, the four winners are Paul Rieger, Pat Kelly, Rachel Keedwell and Murray Guy.

Bruce Rollinson has taken the Ruapehu constituency and John Barrow has Tararua's one seat.

With 58% of the vote counted in the Wanganui constituency, at this stage, David Cotton and Rod Pearce have those two seats.

There was no election for the Horowhenua-Kairanga constituency as Lindsay Burnell and Colleen Sheldon were elected unopposed.

Final results are expected by the 18 October at the latest.