16 Oct 2013

No change to council after special vote count

7:53 pm on 16 October 2013

The remaining 650 special votes in the Wellington City Council elections have now been counted, with no changes to the results announced on election day.

Mayor Celia Wade-Brown was re-elected for a second term and the council has six newcomers, including mayoral hopeful Nicola Young, photographer Simon Woolf and Green Party members Sarah Free and David Lee.

The council's longest serving councillor, Helene Ritchie, has retained her seat in the Northern Ward - but only by 27 votes.