Final election declaration sees two changes to preliminary result in Marlborough

6:04 pm on 14 October 2022
Jonathan Rosene has been elected into the Blenheim ward.

Jonathan Rosene has been elected into the Blenheim ward. Photo: Supplied / Stuff

By Maia Hart, Local Democracy Reporter

The final count for the election in Marlborough has seen two seats changed from the preliminary result released earlier in the week.

Jonathan Rosene has been elected into the final Blenheim ward seat, and Sally Arbuckle in the Wairau-Awatere ward.

It meant Cyril Dawson and Mike Insley missed out despite being told they were elected during preliminary results.

Cyril Dawson called for an apology from the council after being told he had made the Blenheim ward on 8 October, 2022.

Cyril Dawson called for an apology from the council after being told he had made the Blenheim ward on 8 October, 2022. Photo: Supplied / Stuff

It comes after Dawson said earlier this week he wanted an apology from Marlborough District Council for essentially calling the election, and calling him, too early. Dawson could not be reached for comment on Friday afternoon.

On Friday, Rosene said he was humbled and honoured to be elected.

"I'm a bit of a realist, so whether I made it or not, it was more about the doing," Rosene said.

"I got to meet so many people in community groups, that it was just a positive experience win or lose, but of course at the same time I wanted to win."

He had just landed in Wellington with his wife and children when he got the call from the council that he had made it, he said.

"It was just hugs all around, and it was just an exciting time for all four of us," he said.

Rosene had a long background in public service, and was previously a police officer stationed throughout New Zealand and served in the United States military for eight years before that.

Born and raised in the Chicago area, Rosene said he had switched from criminal justice to social justice and was studying towards a history and literature degree at Massey University.

"I enjoyed my law enforcement career very much, I'm extremely proud to have served for the people that I did," he said.

But it did mean he now had the time to sit on council, he said.

"My interests in council, I mean specifically looking at my own ward, I'm probably not too different [from] a lot of the other councillors," he said.

He recognised Marlborough was facing environmental challenges.

"Like climate change, that's something we're going to have to battle against," he said.

He also thought the central business district needed more vibrancy.

"There's been a lot of work from the previous council on that, I would just like to carry on the work that has been done, and I suppose just by putting my own stamp on that."

Marlborough declaration of result:

  • Mayor: Nadine Taylor
  • Blenheim Ward: Jamie Arbuckle, David Croad, Deboarah Dalliessi, Brian Dawson, Matt Flight, Jonathan Rosene and Thelma Sowman
  • Wairau-Awatere Ward: Gerald Hope, Scott Adams, Sally Arbuckle
  • Marlborough Sounds Ward: Barbara Faulls, Ben Minehan, Raylene Innes
  • Māori Ward: Allanah Burgess

Local Democracy Reporting is Public Interest Journalism funded through NZ On Air

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs