PNG PM rewards loyal coalition partners with portfolios

11:40 am on 14 May 2019

Several new Papua New Guinea government ministers have been sworn in.

PNG PM Peter O'Neill

PNG PM Peter O'Neill Photo: AFP / Peter Parks

It's part of a reshuffle necessitated by a recent series of defections from prime minister Peter O'Neill's coalition government.

As expected, Mr O'Neill has rewarded main coalition parties who have stayed with him during an ongoing political wrestle as the opposition prepares for a vote of no confidence against him.

From the United Resources Party, William Onglo is now Minister for Defence, and Elias Kapavore, becomes the Minister for Health.

Another URP MP, Tomait Kapili, becomes Minister assisting the Prime Minister on Bougainville


The Rigo MP, Lekwa Gure, who recently joined the Melanesian Alliance with his former Pangu Pati leader Sam Basil, becomes Minister for Civil Aviation.

Mr Basil has swapped his Finance portfolio with a senior member of Mr O'Neill's People's National Congress, Richard Maru, to take up as the National Planning Minister.

Another PNC MP, Wesley Nukunj, becomes the Minister for Public Service.

The Melanesian Alliance's Chris Nangoi has been appointed Minister for Transport and Infrastructure.

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs