8 Aug 2018

Former Vanuatu MPs returned to jail

2:46 pm on 8 August 2018

Four former members of Vanuatu's parliament have been sent back to prison.

They are Sebastien Harry, Paul Telukluk, Arnold Prasad and Jean-Yves Chabod.

The Vanuatu Daily Post reported the Supreme Court found them guilty of trying to pervert the course of justice in the lead up to being pardoned in 2015 for bribery and corruption.

The court heard from lawyer Gregory Takau who admitted seeing Chabod, Harry and Prasad sign letters requesting a presidential pardon.

Justice Andree Wiltens said the signing demonstrated their stand in joining the conspiracy.

He ordered them to be kept in custody to await sentencing in October.

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs