8 Apr 2018

Six former Vanuatu MPs plead guilty on conspiracy charge

1:28 pm on 8 April 2018

Six former Vanuatu politicians pleaded guilty on Thursday in a retrial at the Supreme Court, while four other former MPs, entered not guilty pleas to charges of conspiracy to defeat the course of justice.

The six who pleaded guilty are Pipite Marcellino, Silas Yatan, Tony Nari, John Amos, Thomas Laken, and Jonas James.

The Daily Post reports that those who have gone to trial are Paul Telukluk, Arnold Prasad, Sebastian Harry, Jean-Yves Chabod along with lawyer Wilson Iauma.

The retrial comes after the Court of Appeal set aside the convictions in April last year on the grounds the trial judge hadn't tried the men as individuals.

The former MPs were part of a larger group of former MPs who were convicted and jailed for receiving money to cross the floor of parliament.