31 Aug 2017

New Caledonia Congress elects new government

1:20 pm on 31 August 2017

New Caledonia's Congress has elected a new 11-member government.

The New Caledonia congress.

The New Caledonia congress. Photo: AFP

The election was called because the Caledonia Together Party ministers had resigned to allow one of them to take up his newly secured seat in the French National Assembly.

As expected eight ministers have been reelected while three new men were chosen to the executive.

They are Nicolas Metzdorf, Christopher Gyges and Didier Poadyaliwane.

The Congress will now choose a new president, with Philippe Germain seeking re-election.

However, the new rifts within the anti-independence camp make his immediate re-election uncertain.

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs