17 Jan 2017

Pacific countries get visa-free access to Belarus

1:47 pm on 17 January 2017

Three Pacific Island countries now have visa-free access to Belarus for short-term visits.

no caption

Photo: 123 RF

Passport holders from Samoa, Vanuatu and the Federated States of Micronesia can enter Belarus for up to five days if they arrive at the international airport in Minsk.

The president of Belarus signed a decree to ease travel for a broad range of countries, including the US.

In September, neighbouring Russia signed an agreement with Vanuatu for visa-free travel.

Fiji passport holders also have visa-free access to Russia but no other such access in Europe except to Ireland.

Papua New Guinea is the only other Pacific Island country without visa-free access to European Union countries.

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs