8 Dec 2016

Fiji again seeks visa-free EU access

2:04 pm on 8 December 2016

Fiji has again asked the European Union to grant it citizen visa-free access to the 26 countries making up the Schengen Area.

EU Flag

EU Flag Photo: Supplied

The Fiji prime minister Frank Bainimarama put this to the President of the European Council Donald Tusk during a meeting in Brussels.

The EU has eased travel for citizens of Pacific Island countries except for Fiji and Papua New Guinea.

Mr Bainimarama said the EU should act as Fiji has met the requirements for visa-free travel.

The only European countries accessible for Fiji passport holders without first obtaining a visa are Ireland and Russia.

In Asia, no visa is needed for China, Indonesia, the Philippines, Singapore, Malaysia, Bangladesh and South Korea.

However, visas are needed for Australia and New Zealand.