9 Jul 2020

Queensland to completely shut borders to Victoria

1:24 pm on 9 July 2020

Queensland will completely close its border to non-residents from Victoria from midday tomorrow.

This file photo taken on April 15, 2020 shows a COVID-19 coronavirus sign at a Pacific Highway vehicle checkpoint on the Queensland-New South Wales state border near Coolangatta.

Queensland checkpoint. Photo: AFP

Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk announced the change on social media, tweeting: "Given the developing situation in Victoria, Queensland is hardening its border.

"From noon, July 10, visitors from Victoria will no longer gain access or be able to quarantine in Queensland.

"They will be turned around."

Queensland residents will still be allowed to return from Victoria, although they have been advised against travelling there.

"It is strongly recommended that Queenslanders do not travel to Victoria," Palaszczuk said.

"Queensland residents returning from Victoria will gain access, but they must quarantine in a hotel for 14 days at their expense."

The Government has announced a number of exemptions for people entering the state from Victoria, who will not be required to quarantine:

  • Essential health workers
  • People travelling on health, legal or compassionate grounds
  • Truck drivers carrying freight, but must renew border pass every seven days

Central Melbourne today began a six week lockdown due a rise in cases in the city.

Stay-at-home orders have been reintroduced for both Melbourne and the shire of Mitchell - placing those areas back into Stage 3 restrictions from midnight tomorrow.

The state reported 191 new cases of Covid-19 on Tuesday, with 37 linked to known outbreaks and the remaining 154 still under investigation.


Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs