27 Nov 2018

Waitangi Tribunal gets new members

2:37 pm on 27 November 2018

The president of the Māori Women's Welfare league is one of three new members added to the Waitangi Tribunal.

Māori Women's Welfare League president Prue Kapua.

Māori Women's Welfare League president Prue Kapua is a new member. Photo: RNZ / Robin Martin

The Māori development minister Nanaia Mahuta annouced the appoinment of eight members to the tribunal - who'll each serve a three year term.

Māori Women's Welfare League president Prue Kapua, te reo Māori advocate Ruakere Hond and public servant Kim Ngarimu are the new members.

"They have already contributed so much to Aotearoa New Zealand," Ms Mahuta said.

The Tribunal will benefit greatly from their skills as it embarks upon significant kaupapa in the coming months."

Dr Angela Ballara, Dr Monty Soutar, Ronald Crosby, Tania Simpson and Professor Pou Temara have been reappointed to the Waitangi Tribunal.

"As I consider the people who will hear these claims on behalf of New Zealand, I take very seriously the mix of expertise, mātauranga and perspective they each bring."

The Waitangi Tribunal's members are appointed by the Governor-General on the recommendation of the Minister for Māori Development.

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs