21 Oct 2014

Finalists named for book awards

6:15 am on 21 October 2014

The finalists for the Aotearoa Maori book awards have been announced and include a majority of books on Maori development.

Massey University's Nga Kupu Ora awards have been held since 2009 to formally recognise Maori literature. This year there are 16 books by 12 publishers in five categories.

The authors included are Tina Makereti, Kiri Piahana-Wong, Eria Migoto, Phil Belcher and Pihopi Kingi.

Massey University's director of Maori, Te Kani Kingi, said this year there is a particular focus on Maori development.

Dr Kingi said the awards are an opportunity to profile writers and celebrate their mahi (work), in a setting where they perhaps have not been acknowledged otherwise.

The winners will announced at a ceremony at Te Papa in Wellington on 13 November.

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs