15 Sep 2014

Maunga Authority holds first hui

8:15 pm on 15 September 2014

The first hui for the Maunga Authority, which will oversee Auckland's volcanic cones was held today.

The Maunga Authority comprises 13 members - six from mana whenua, six from Auckland Council and a non-voting member from the Crown.

One Tree Hill in Auckland.

One Tree Hill in Auckland. Photo: PHOTO NZ

It will govern 12 of the volcanic cones, including Maungawhau, or Mount Eden, and Maungakiekie, also known as One Tree Hill.

At the hui Ngarimu Blair, representing Ngati Whatua, spoke of the importance of the authority.

Mr Blair said they have stood up there and watched the maunga, or mount, fall down around them under the weight of cows, sheep, rabbits and, on some maunga, millions of visitors.

He said while Auckland iwi might have failed in their relationships to say something collectively about looking after them better than they have been, now this is their chance.

Mr Blair is excited about being an inaugural member and hoped to set the platform so that those who follow them can sustain it.

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs