23 Jan 2012

Australian women win Twenty20 series

11:25 am on 23 January 2012

The Australian women's cricket team has clinched the Twenty20 series against New Zealand after winning the third match in Sydney by 7 runs.

Australia scored 134 for eight and Lisa Sthalekar then took four wickets as New Zealand finished on 127 for eight.

Amy Satterthwaite scored 45 and Liz Perry added 24 to keep the White Ferns close before Morna Nielsen lashed a quick 21 at the end of the innings.

The two sides now play three ODIs in the Rose Bowl series before the last two Twenty20 matches.