15 May 2019

Les Elder named new Black Ferns captain

5:18 am on 15 May 2019

Bay of Plenty flanker Les Elder has been named as captain for a new look 2019 Black Ferns squad featuring 10 uncapped players.

Les Elder and Linda Itunu with the Laurie O'Reilly Memorial Trophy.


Elder, a specialist number 7, made her debut in the black jersey in 2015 and was part of the 2017 World Cup winning squad.

Kendra Cocksedge and Selica Winiata have been named as co-vice captains.

Black Ferns Head Coach Glenn Moore said Elder was a natural leader who had quickly made an impact on the culture of the squad since her debut in 2015.

"On the field Les is uncompromising, and her knowledge of the game is outstanding. Off the field she has the ability to bring players together and bring out the best in them. She is a clear communicator, setting high standards for herself for others to follow.

Moore has included seven new forwards and three backs. Three of the uncapped players have been named in previous squads but are yet to have their start in the black jersey.

The seven new caps are: Karli Faneva (Bay of Plenty), Luka Connor (Bay of Plenty), Forne Burkin (Canterbury), Kennedy Simon (Waikato), Harono Te Iringa (Counties Manukau), Grace Brooker (Canterbury) and Pia Tapsell (North Harbour).

Joanah Ngan-Woo (Wellington), Kilisitina Moata-ana (Otago) and Arihiana Marino-Tauhinu (Counties Manukau) have all been named in the squad previously and haven't had their debut.

The Black Ferns play Canada, USA and France in the Super series in San Diego in June and July before meeting England and Australia in August.

The Black Ferns squad is (Test caps in brackets, new caps in bold).


Eloise Blackwell (37) Auckland

Forne Burkin Canterbury

Luka Connor Bay of Plenty

Les Elder (Captain, 13) Bay of Plenty

Karli Faneva Bay of Plenty

Aldora Itunu (20) Auckland

Phillipa Love (7) Canterbury

Charmaine McMenamin (19) Auckland

Toka Natua (16) Waikato

Aleisha-Pearl Nelson (29) Auckland

Joanah Ngan-Woo Wellington

Te Kura Ngata-Aerengamate (23) Counties Manukau

Marcelle Parkes (2) Wellington

Leilani Perese (5) Counties Manukau

Kennedy Simon Waikato

Charmaine Smith (21) Auckland

Pia Tapsell North Harbour

Harono Te Iringa Counties Manukau

Cristo Tofa Auckland


Chelsea Alley (18) Waikato

Kelly Brazier (37) Bay of Plenty

Grace Brooker Canterbury

Kendra Cocksedge (Co-Vice Captain, 47) Canterbury

Krysten Cottrell (5) Hawke's Bay

Kiritapu Demant (2) Bay of Plenty

Ruahei Demant (5) Auckland

Theresa Fitzpatrick (9) Auckland

Carla Hohepa (19) Waikato

Ayesha Leti-Iiga (3) Wellington

Arihiana Marino-Tauhinu Counties Manukau

Kilisitina Moata'ane Otago

Natahlia Moors (1) Auckland

Alena Saili (2) Southland

Renee Wickliffe (35) Bay of Plenty

Selica Winiata (Co-Vice Captain, 36) Manawatu