10 Nov 2016

Four debutants set for Kiwis

10:35 am on 10 November 2016

Kiwi's coach David Kidwell has named four rookies in his squad to take on Scotland in the Four Nations on Saturday morning.

Dallin Watene-Zelezniak

Dallin Watene-Zelezniak Photo: PHOTOSPORT

One-test Kiwi Dallin Watene-Zelezniak has been named at fullback in place of Jordan Kahu, joining debutant David Fusitu'a, who takes a wing spot, in the starting line-up.

Three others - Te Maire Martin, James Fisher-Harris and Joseph Tapine - will come off the bench for their first appearances in an international test match. The first to take the field will become Kiwi number 800.

The NZ team have moved camp to Carlisle ahead of their game in Workington on the northwest coast of England.

With this line-up, all 24 members of the touring squad will have played during the Four Nations tournament.

"It's an exciting opportunity for these young players," says Kidwell. "They are hungry, their effort and attitude in training has shown me that, and they'll bring a lot of energy."

After the 14-8 loss to Australia last weekend, Kidwell acknowledges this game is a must win.

"The most important thing right now is we need to win. Scotland started really well against England and we need to respect that.

"They have improved every game and if you add that on top of the conditions, we have a tough challenge ahead."

"The guys making their debuts deserve the opportunity to play. They have worked extremely hard and have been pushing for spots all tour."

Jason Nightingale also returns to the team, after missing last week's test with an ankle injury.

Manu Ma'u and Greg Eastwood come into the starting team replacing Kevin Proctor and Jason Taumalolo, while Gerard Beale shifts to centre in place of Shaun Kenny-Dowall.

The Kiwis need to beat Scotland and hope England don't upset Australia by a big score to make sure of making the final.

The full NZ Kiwis team is:

Number Name Club Kiwi #

1 Dallin Watene-Zelezniak Penrith Panthers 794

2 Jason Nightingale St George-Illawarra Dragons 747

3 Solomone Kata NZ Warriors 797

4 Gerard Beale Cronulla Sharks 767

5 David Fusitu'a NZ Warriors -

6 Thomas Leuluai NZ Warriors 704

7 Shaun Johnson NZ Warriors 774

8 Jesse Bromwich (c) Melbourne Storm 775

9 Issac Luke NZ Warriors 749

10 Adam Blair Brisbane Broncos 732

11 Manu Ma'u Parramatta Eels 795

12 Tohu Harris Melbourne Storm 778

13 Greg Eastwood Canterbury Bulldogs 737

14 Te Maire Martin Penrith Panthers -

15 Martin Taupau Manly Sea Eagles 785

16 James Fisher-Harris Penrith Panthers -

17 Joseph Tapine Canberra Raiders -

18 Lewis Brown Manly Sea Eagles 762

19 Jordan Rapana Canberra Raiders 798

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs

We have regular online commentary of local and international sport.