2 Nov 2015

Dan Carter named world player of the year

1:02 pm on 2 November 2015

All Black Dan Carter has been named the best player in the world for the third time at the World Rugby Awards.

Dan Carter after the All Blacks' semi-final win against South Africa

Dan Carter after the All Blacks' semi-final win against South Africa Photo: AFP

Accepting the award in London today, Carter said it felt like "he was leaving on the right note".

In his last year with the All Blacks, Carter produced a man of the match performance in helping his side beat the Wallabies yesterday to retain their World Cup title.

The title comes 10 years after he first won the award in 2005, with the All Black and Canterbury star also claiming the title in 2012. Richie McCaw has also won the award three times. It is the eighth time a New Zealander has won the Player of the Year Award since they started in 2001.

Carter won the award ahead of team-mate Julian Savea, Australian loosies David Pocock and Michael Hooper, Scottish halfback Greig Laidlaw and Welsh lock Alun Wyn Jones.

no metadata

Dan Carter's pivotal drop goal in the 2015 Rugby World Cup final against Australia. Photo: RNZ / Jamie Wall

It has been a good night for the All Blacks - they were named team of the year and Julian Savea's blockbusting try against France at the Rugby World Cup has been named the try of the year.

Savea was named twice in the shortlist for try of the year, but it was his brilliant try against France that took the top prize.

no metadata

Julian Savea's huge try against France in the quarter final of the 2015 Rugby world Cup Photo: RNZ / Jamie Wall

Fellow winger Nehe Milner-Skudder has also been named the breakthrough player of the year after a stellar season for the All Blacks that included a pivotal try in the Rugby World Cup final.

The All Blacks were named as the team of the year for the sixth straight year.

But All Blacks coach Steve Hansen has missed out on the coach of the year title, with Australian coach Michael Cheika taking home the top prize.

Black Fern Kendra Cocksedge won the women's player of the year title, while NZ sevens winger Portia Woodman has been named the women's sevens player of the year at today's awards.

New Zealand Rugby chairman Brent Impey has congratulated the All Blacks on their success.

He said the awards reflected many years of hard work, focus and dedication.

"Everyone has made incredible sacrifices to help the All Blacks to be in this position today as back-to-back World Champions. They richly deserve to be named Team of the Year. We also acknowledge Australia who pushed us hard at Twickenham, and showed incredible spirit and flair in making for an unforgettable World Cup Final.

"I want to make special mention of Richie McCaw who has led so well from the front for so long in one of rugby's most demanding positions. His contribution to this success is enormous. An extraordinary athlete, and an incredible leader who enshrines the values we hold dear of humility, professionalism, integrity. All of rugby is richer for the example he has shown."

Nigel Owens was named referee of the year, while Japan's victory over South Africa in the pool stage of the World Cup tournament was named best match moment of the year.

The ceremony opened with a special presentation of another winners' medal to Sonny Bill Williams, who gave his medal to a young fan after the game.

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs

We have regular online commentary of local and international sport.