20 Dec 2011

National caucus elects new whips

3:27 pm on 20 December 2011

List MP Michael Woodhouse is the National Party's new senior whip.

National MPs elected two whips at caucus on Tuesday to replace Chris Tremain and Jo Goodhew, who were both promoted to ministerial positions outside the Cabinet.

Mr Woodhouse is from Dunedin and entered Parliament in 2008.

The junior whip is Taupo MP Louise Upston, who also became an MP in 2008.

Whips are organisers and administrators of MPs in each of the political parties in the House.