21 Sep 2014

Big change in Maori seats

2:20 am on 21 September 2014

Three of the Maori seats have changed hands and Labour now holds all but one of the seven Maori seats.

In Te Tai Tokerau, Labour's Kelvin Davis defeated Mana leader Hone Harawira by 1119 votes.

Te Ururoa Flavell.

Te Ururoa Flavell retained Waiariki while Labour now has other six Maori seats. Photo: RNZ / Natalie Mankelow

Labour has also taken Tamaki Makarau, the seat formerly held by Maori Party co-leader Pita Sharples, with Peeni Henare winning by 1230 votes.

In Te Tai Hauauru, where Tariana Turia stood down, Labour's Adrian Rurawhe has taken the seat by 1453 votes.

That leaves the Maori Party with just one of the Maori seats, Waiariki, retained by the party co-leader Te Ururoa Flavell. He is likely to be joined by list candidate Marama Fox in parliament.

As well as three Maori seats, Labour won the Napier seat where sitting National MP Chris Tremain had stood down.

Labour's Stuart Nash won the seat with a 3733 vote majority over National's Wayne Walford. Conservative Party candidate s Garth McVicar polled well in third place.

Labour also held on in marginal Hutt South where Trevor Mallard defeated National's Chris Bishop by just 378 votes.

But with 27 electorate MPs, Labour will have just five list MPs in the next Parliament.

That means long serving MPs Maryan Street, Moana Mackey and Carol Beaumont will not return to Parliament, with the former party president Andrew Little also vulnerable if the number of Labour seats drops after special votes are counted.

With all polling places counted, National has 41 electorate seats, Labour 27, and the Maori Party, ACT and United Future one each.

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs