7 Aug 2020

Psych-pop group Glass Vaults release single, announce new album

From RNZ Music, 1:00 pm on 7 August 2020

RNZ Music is proud to present Glass Vaults' new single ‘Flat White Boy’, from their newly-announced third album, Sounds That Sound Like Music.

Glass Vaults was formed in Wellington in 2010 by Richard Larsen, Bevan Smith and Rowan Pierce. The trio, who now live in three different cities – Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch – come together intermittently (and often in remote locations) to write and record.

The group work with an extended group of collaborators including Cory Champion (Borrowed CS) and Erika Grant (Orchestra of Spheres), who worked on 'Flat White Boy', as well as Tom Callwood (Phoenix Foundation), Charlotte Forrester (Womb) and Gemma Syme (Instant Fantasy), who all contributed to the new record.

Sounds That Sound Like Music, Glass Vaults' third album, is due out in October, and 'Flat White Boy' is the second single from the record, following 'Oils and Perfume', which came out in April, during lockdown.

The song title ‘Flat White Boy’ comes from the band's "deep love" for flat white coffees, and cafe-grade muffins.

Glass Vaults Album

Glass Vaults Album Photo: Supplied

The lyrics were inspired by a story American musician Nile Rodgers tells about his experience producing David Bowie's track ‘Let's Dance’. When Rodgers played Bowie a new guitar part for the song, he asked, "Is it too funky?" Bowie simply replied, "Can you be too Funky?"

These words form the song's central refrain, and – according to the band – guided the creation of the entire album. 

Glass Vaults wrote and recorded Sounds That Sound Like Music at a lake house in Taupō and a cabin in the mountains of Arthur’s Pass.

It will be released digitally and on limited edition New Zealand pressed yellow vinyl in October 2020.

  • VIDEO PREMIERE: Glass Vaults ‘Oils and Perfume’
  • The New Happy by Glass Vaults
  • Glass Vaults Live in Session
  • Get the RNZ app

    for easy access to all your favourite programmes