28 Aug 2019

Nauru's new president goes for freshness in cabinet

6:42 pm on 28 August 2019

The new President of Nauru, Lionel Aingimea, has wasted no time, after being named to the role on Tuesday.

Lionel Aingimea

Lionel Aingimea Photo: Nauru Government

Mr Aingimea was elected in parliament after former president Baron Waqa lost his seat in Saturday's general election.

Today he has named his cabinet.

Mr Aingimea is Minister of Foreign Affairs and will hold a series of more minor portfolios.

All six of the other cabinet posts are filled by newly elected MPs.

They include Martin Hunt in Finance, Isabella Dageago as Health Minister and Maverick Eoe becomes Minister of Justice.

During the swearing in Mr Aingimea said "we have just witnessed the swearing in of your government - a government reflective of the wishes of the people. As I articulated in my adjournment debate in parliament yesterday, this government's foremost duty is to unify the nation."

The President then used the Biblical quote, "if a house is divided against itself it cannot stand."

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs