27 Aug 2019

No change in results after Nauru election recount

9:53 am on 27 August 2019

The Nauru Electoral Commission has completed the recount of votes cast in the Ubenide constituency for Saturday's general election.

The recount followed the discovery of six ballot papers in the parliamentary chamber that had fallen between two desks.

The commission said the papers were discovered when the desks were separated in preparation for a ceremony.

Nauru's Justice Minister David Adeang

David Adeang Photo: Supplied

It said the votes were validly cast and that the recount had not changed the results of the initial tally.

Four MPs were chosen to represent the constituency including the incumbent finance minister David Adeang.

About half of Nauru's 19 sitting MPs lost their seats in the election, including president Baron Waqa.