17 May 2019

New Caledonian assemblies elect presidents

3:13 pm on 17 May 2019

New Caledonia's three provincial assemblies have elected their provinces' presidents for a five-year term following last Sunday's elections.

New Caledonia Congress

Photo: RNZ Pacific/ Walter Zweifel

In the northern province, the pro-independence politician Paul Neaoutyine was re-elected while the other two provinces chose new leaders.

In the southern province, the leader of the anti-independence Future with Confidence Sonia Backes was elected, defeating the pro-independence candidate Roch Wamytan.

She replaces Philippe Michel of the Caledonia Together party which didn't put up a candidate today.

The rival anti-independence parties failed to agree on how to share the top jobs which include the Congress presidency and the presidency of the collegial government.

In the Loyalty Islands province, Jacques Lalie, was elected president by the assembly made up of only pro-independence members.

Congress will meet next week to choose its president.

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs