11 Apr 2019

Six parties could form next Solomons government

7:41 am on 11 April 2019

Reports from Solomon Islands say a grand coalition, consisting of six political parties, now looks set to form the next government.

Solomon Islands election sign

Photo: RNZ Pacific/ Koroi Hawkins

The Island Sun said the six are the Solomon Islands Democratic Party, the United Democrats, the United Party, the People's Alliance, People's First, and the Party for Rural Advancement.

These parties can boast a slight majority with 26 MPs in the 50 seat house.

The paper said party leaders are expected to commit to a grand coalition agreement which appears set to lock out independent MPs, who constitute a block of 17 in the new parliament.

Meanwhile, the registration of a political party led by the former Solomon Islands prime minister, Manasseh Sogavare, has been approved, a week after the election.

Mr Sogavare had registered his 'Our Party' in the days before an election date was announced, but electoral law meant it was not approved until this week.

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs