26 Mar 2019

Change to Solomons election candidates list

10:51 am on 26 March 2019

The Solomon Islands Electoral Commission has announced changes to the candidates list for next week's election.

Mark Kemakeza has been disqualified from contesting in the Savo Russell constituency and Alex Gina Kivolyn, who was previously disqualified from North Vella La Vella has been reinstated.

Mr Kemakeza was disqualified for failing to provide proof of party affiliation.

He registered as a Solomon Islands Democratic Party candidate but was rejected by the party's executive who filed a formal complaint with the commission leading to his removal.

Alex Gina Kivolyn meanwhile had followed all of the necessary steps to be registered as an election candidate but was excluded from the final list for North Vella La Vella.

However, Alex Gina Kivolyn has told the Island Sun newspaper the reinstatement has come too late and he will not be contesting the election next week.

Mr Kivolyn, a school principal who had resigned in order to contest the election, said he had not done any campagning as a result of his earlier exclusion.

"I was unfairly treated...I don't want to be a laughing stock when my name appears on the list," Mr Kivolyn told the Sun.

He said he would be seeking to have his name removed from the list, again.

It means there are just two candidates contesting the North Vella La Vella constituency and with Mr Kemakeza's removal, only 12 contesting Savo Russell.

The overall number of candidates is now 332.

Solomon Islands election

Solomon Islands election Photo: RNZ Pacific/Koroi Hawkins

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs