Sogavare moves to consolidate govt

9:06 am on 2 November 2017

The Solomon Islands prime minister Manasseh Sogavare has moved to consolidate his coalition government, announcing eight new ministers ahead of a no confidence vote next week.

No caption

Solomon Islands Prime Minister Manasseh Sogavare Photo: RNZI/ Koroi Hawkins

The ministers were sworn in yesterday after nine ministers resigned at the weekend.

Moses Garu and Dickson Mua, who were among those who'd resigned, have rejoined.

The ministers include four new appointments.

Mr Sogavare is facing a no-confidence motion in parliament on Monday.

He said the motion comes in light of "unsubstantiated motives" relating to the Anti- Corruption Bill (ACB) and he has described it as a cover up for the lack of performance by some former ministers.

He said it was clear the defectors were apprehensive about the anti corruption bill.

Defecting ministers said they had lost trust in Mr Sogavare as leader and there have been concerns his nephew, as cabinet's chief of staff , had too much influence.

"The defectors say they have no confidence in me and are unhappy with the Chief of Staff who is just doing his job as an employee under my directions and that of Cabinet and Caucus as a Government Official, which does not justify an MNC (motion of no confidence) due to the fact that he can be relieved of duty at any time without having to provoke political instability," said Mr Sogavare.

The eight ministers sworn in on Wednesday are:

Ishmael Avui, Minister for Development, Planning and Aid Coordination

Maeue Augustine Auga, Minister for Agriculture and Livestock Development

Nestor Ghiro, as Minister for Provincial Government and Institutional Strengthening

Bradley Tovosia, Minister for Minister for Forestry and Research

Moses Gharu, MP as Minister for Minister for Home Affairs

Jimson Fiau Tanagada, MP as Minister for Police, National Security and Correctional Services

Dickson Mua, MP- Minister for Minister for Mines, Energy and Rural Electrification

Duddley Kopu, MP - Minister for Rural Development and Indigenous Affairs

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs