Nine line up to contest Bougainville presidency

1:30 pm on 2 April 2015

The Bougainville electoral commissioner says nine people will contest the presidency for the autonomous Papua New Guinea province at next month's election.

George Manu says they are still waiting for all returning officers to get back to Buka before announcing all the candidates for the 33 open seats, the three seats reserved for women and the three seats reserved for non-combatants, in the parliament.

The candidates for president include the incumbent, John Momis, and two former military leaders in the Bougainville Revolutionary Army, Sam Kauona and Ishmael Toroama.

Another is former speaker of the ABG, Nick Peniai, former PNG MP for Central Bougainville, Sam Akoitai and lawyer Reuben Siara, who also ran in 2010.

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs