16 Oct 2020

New Zealanders dominate World Rugby Awards nominations

10:42 am on 16 October 2020

A long list of New Zealanders have been nominated for World Rugby's Player of the Decade Awards with Portia Woodman up for three awards.

All Blacks skipper Richie McCaw and Dan Carter hold the 2015 trophy aloft.

All Blacks skipper Richie McCaw and Dan Carter hold the 2015 trophy aloft. Photo: Photosport

The world governing body announced last month that no awards for 2020 would be presented this year.

Instead there will be a fan vote for six awards.

Richie McCaw, Dan Carter, Kieran Read, Brodie Retallick and Beauden Barrett are among the finalists for men's 15's player of the decade.

The other finalists are France's Thierry Dusautoir, Ireland's Johnny Sexton and South Africa's Pieter-Steph du Toit.

Carla Hohepa, Kendra Cocksedge and Portia Woodman are up for women's 15's player of the decade.

They are joined by English trio Michaela Staniford, Sarah Hunter and Emily Scarratt, as well as Canadian Magali Harvey and France's Jessy Tremouliere.

Portia Woodman fends off Akev Kelter of the USA, during the Black Ferns' semi-final game at the Rugby World Cup.

Portia Woodman Photo: PhotoSport

Tomasi Cama and Tim Mikkelson are nominated for men's sevens player of the decade, while Kayla McAlister, Portia Woodman, Michaela Blyde and Ruby Tui are nominated for women's sevens player of the decade.

There are four All Blacks tries up for men's try of the decade.... Beauden Barrett's against France in 2013 Julian Savea's score against France at the 2015 World Cup, Brodie Retallick's try against Australia in 2018 and TJ Perenara's try against Namibia at last year's World Cup.

Portia Woodman's try against the USA at the 2017 world cup is nominated for women's try of the decade.

The winners will be announced during a virtual ceremony on December 7th.