23 Jan 2020

Hagley Oval to host 2021 Women's Cricket World Cup final

2:00 pm on 23 January 2020

Christchurch's Hagley Oval has been confirmed as the venue for 2021 Women's Cricket World Cup final.

General view of Hagley Oval.

Hagley Oval Photo: Photosport

Six New Zealand cities will host the tournament's 31 One Day International matches, which runs from 6 February to 7 March. The cities are Auckland, Wellington, Hamilton, Tauranga, Dunedin and Christchurch.

Hamilton and Tauranga will host the semifinals while Christchurch was awarded the final after consents were granted for the installation of lights at Hagley Oval last year.

Smaller centres such as Nelson, New Plymouth and Napier missed out on hosting any of the matches.

"Our goal was to ensure all 31 matches will be played at the best venues, encompassing a geographic spread that ensured as many Kiwi sports fans as possible get to engage with the tournament," ICC Women's Cricket World Cup chief executive Andrea Nelson said.

Nelson added a number of cities in New Zealand bid for a chance to host matches.

"It was great to see the enthusiasm from so many cities bidding for a chance to welcome the best players in the world to their backyard.

"We're absolutely thrilled with the outcome of that robust process and the cities that are now locked in," she said.

New Zealand Cricket chief executive David White the tournament will be another step forward in transforming women's cricket here and abroad.

"This will be a spectacular event that will help further engage, and grow, an appreciative new audience for the game. We're looking forward to showcasing the best of our sport and our country to the rest of the world," he said.

The tournament secured funding though the government's Major Events Fund, along with the 2021 Women's Rugby World Cup.

Eight teams will play at the Cricket World Cup, with New Zealand Australia and England already qualifying for it.

The tournament schedule will be finalised in March.